Skip to main content
#Tax & Legal #VAT Advice #VAT

The VAT destination document as proof of transport in the case of an intra-Community supply: unnecessary, useful or necessary?

Wednesday 22/04/2020
btw bestemmingsdocument

Since the beginning of this year, a system of proof of transport in the case of intra-Community supplies has been introduced at the European level.

In the case of supplies of goods where transport is carried out by or on behalf of the purchaser, monthly written acknowledgements of receipt signed by the purchaser, together with other documents, provide sufficient proof. Before 1 January 2020, only a limited number of countries had an elaborated scheme for such attestations (e.g.: in Belgium: the destination document, in Germany: the Gelangensbestätigung). When the European rules were introduced into Belgian legislation, the Belgian regime concerning the destination document was retained as an alternative regime. In fact, it appears to be more interesting than the European acknowledgement of receipt, which is unlikely to be as successful. However, relatively few Belgian companies have their customers sign a destination document. Is this right, or do they miss out on an opportunity that can avoid much discussion during checks?

In the new extended circular letter 2020/C/50 of 2 April 2020 on intra-Community goods transactions, the Belgian administration explains the role of the destination document as proof of transport. The Belgian regime also recognises the importance of a destination document for deliveries with transport by or on behalf of the seller and thus goes a little further than the European rules. We summarise the essentials for you: When is a destination document interesting for you as a supplier and when is it not?

What is the European written declaration of receipt and what should you do with it if it is sent to you?

The 'written declaration' acknowledges receipt of goods in another Member State and may serve as additional evidence to support the VAT exemption of an intra-Community supply in the case of supplies with transport by the purchaser. After all, anyone applying the intra-Community supply exemption must be able to prove, among other things, that the goods were dispatched or transported to another EU Member State by or on behalf of the vendor or the purchaser. When you receive such a destination document from your supplier, he will therefore request confirmation that the goods you have purchased from him have arrived in Belgium. Under European rules of evidence, the destination document is essential to provide sufficient proof of transport if the buyer is responsible for the transport of the goods. From a European point of view, these written declarations must be made once a month. In fact, the European rules remain quite strict. The declaration still has to be supplemented by at least 2 other documents (signed CMR, transport invoice, transport insurance document, ...), where these documents still have to originate from different parties in order to constitute sufficient proof that creates a rebuttable presumption that the goods have left the country of departure. This means that the European written declaration is not applied so much in practice.

However, if a supplier asks you to sign such a declaration, it seems advisable to us to actually do so. However, try to limit the extra administration as much as possible by asking your supplier to already include all the necessary information (the most delicate ones being: date and place of arrival and identification of the means of transport) on the document.

The Belgian Destination Document

The Belgian VAT rules go further than the European ones and give the destination document for EXW shipments greater evidential value as independent proof which does not necessarily have to be supplemented by other documents.

In addition, the Belgian rules also allow the use of the destination document if the transport is carried out by or on behalf of the seller. Together with a copy of the transport invoice, the destination document then constitutes sufficient proof, which constitutes a rebuttable presumption.

Belgian suppliers who sell EXW have, among other things, every interest in asking their customers to sign destination documents.

In the case of a chain sale (several successive sales in which there is only one transport operation), the destination document may be drawn up by the supplier's co-contractor or by the final purchaser of the goods (final purchaser in the chain).

The Belgian destination document may be drawn up globally per buyer for a maximum period of 3 months. It must be dated, signed and returned to the supplier within three months after the period to which the document relates. Signing may be done by the buyer himself or by a person authorized by him, e.g. an accountant, a third party warehouse keeper, a warehouse employee, etc. In that case, the signature must be preceded by the words 'on behalf of buyer'.

What can you use a destination document for?

If, in an intra-Community context, you supply goods to a customer identified in another Member State, you must always provide proof, by means of a set of documents, that the goods have indeed been transported to another Member State. In principle, you must always be in possession of all documents proving transport outside Belgium. During an audit, the tax authorities may assess whether the supplier has provided sufficient proof.

You may use the destination document to provide this proof of transport, without any other additional document having to be produced, provided of course that the destination document does not conflict with the other supporting documents of the sale (contracts, order forms, invoices and payment documents).

What must the destination document contain?

The destination document must contain the following information:

  • the seller's name, address and Belgian VAT number;
  • the name, address and VAT number of the buyer in the Member State (other than Belgium) where he will receive the goods;
  • confirmation that the destination document relates to the arrival of goods in the context of a VAT-exempt intra-Community supply;
  • the place of arrival of the goods (address outside Belgium);
  • the common name and quantity of the goods and, in the case of vehicles, the identification number of the vehicle;
  • the date and number of the invoice or, if the invoice has not yet been issued, any other reference unambiguously connected with the invoice;
  • the date of receipt of the goods delivered.

When is a destination document interesting to use?

It is particularly interesting to use a destination document when few other documents are available to you relating to intra-Community transport. We are thinking in the first place of the situation in which your customer himself collects the purchased goods in Belgium in order to bring them back to his own Member State (delivery 'Ex works'). Since in this case the transport is organised entirely beyond your control, it is often difficult to have sufficient proof of the transport. However, by means of the destination document, your customer can confirm to you that the goods have indeed arrived in another Member State and this constitutes a rebuttable presumption of the transport during an audit.

Even if you are going to deliver the goods to another Member State using your own means of transport, the destination document may be useful, as in this case, for example, no invoices from a transport company will be available. You can then present the destination document to your buyer immediately upon arrival. In this way, you have some degree of control over the signing of this document. Another alternative is a periodic destination document.

… And when not?

If you have goods delivered to the consignee in another Member State by a transport company, which will always provide you with a CMR document signed for receipt of the delivered goods, a destination document will offer little added value. After all, the invoice from the transport company and the signed CMR document and the payment for the transport are sufficient proof that the transport has taken place.

In this case, it would not appear necessary (or even useful) to request another signed destination document from the consignee of the goods.

In such situations, a destination document will only constitute an additional administrative burden for both you as the seller as well as the buyer.

Can the VAT exemption simply be applied when a destination document is available?

To the extent that you knew or should have known that the goods sold by you would remain in Belgium after the sale, even a signed destination document cannot be used as evidence for the VAT exemption. Take, for example, the situation where you sell building materials to a Polish contractor where you know that these materials will be used on a building site in Belgium. In such cases, you will always have to charge Belgian VAT (except in cases where another VAT exemption applies).

In addition, the tax authorities can always provide proof to the contrary that the destination document is incorrect and that the goods have not arrived as declared.

Conclusion

In certain cases, a destination document can certainly be a useful tool to easily prove the intra-Community transport of goods. However, it does not seem necessary to have the destination document signed by the purchaser for each intra-Community supply.

Contact one of our experts
Bert Derez
Bert Derez
Partner Tax & Legal Services
Aurelie Van Oosterwyck
Aurelie Van Oosterwyck
Manager Tax & Legal Services

Aller au contenu principal
#tva #Document de destination #Livraisons intracommunautaires

Le document de destination TVA comme preuve du transport en cas de livraison intracommunautaire : superflu, utile ou nécessaire ?

Mercredi 22/04/2020
btw bestemmingsdocument

Depuis le début de cette année, un régime de preuve du transport pour les livraisons intracommunautaires a été introduit au niveau européen.

Dans le cas de livraisons de biens dont le transport est effectué par ou pour le compte de l'acquéreur, des accusés de réception écrits mensuels signés par l'acquéreur, en combinaison avec d'autres documents, constituent une preuve suffisante. Avant le 1er janvier 2020, seul un nombre limité de pays disposait d'un régime élaboré pour ces attestations (p. ex. : en Belgique : le document de destination, en Allemagne : le Gelangensbestätigung). Lorsque les règles européennes ont été introduites dans la législation belge, le régime belge concernant le document de destination a été maintenu comme régime alternatif. En fait, il semble plus intéressant que l'accusé de réception européen, qui n’aura probablement pas autant de succès. Cependant, relativement peu d'entreprises belges font signer un document de destination par leurs clients. Ont-elles raison, ou bien manquent-elles l’occasion d’éviter beaucoup de discussions lors d’un contrôle ?

Dans la nouvelle circulaire 2020/C/50 du 2 avril 2020 relative aux transactions intracommunautaires de marchandises, l'administration belge explique le rôle du document de destination comme preuve du transport. Le régime belge reconnaît également l'importance d'un document de destination pour les livraisons avec transport par ou pour le compte du vendeur et va donc un peu plus loin que les règles européennes. Nous vous résumons l'essentiel : Quand un document de destination est-il intéressant pour vous en tant que fournisseur et quand ne l'est-il pas ?

Qu'est-ce que la déclaration de réception écrite européenne et que devez-vous en faire si on vous l'envoie ?

La « déclaration écrite » confirme la réception des biens dans un autre État membre et peut servir de moyen de preuve supplémentaire pour étayer l'exonération de TVA d'une livraison intracommunautaire en cas de livraison avec transport par l'acquéreur. En effet, quiconque applique l'exonération des livraisons intracommunautaires doit pouvoir prouver, entre autres, que les biens ont été expédiés ou transportés vers un autre État membre de l'UE par ou pour le compte du vendeur ou de l'acquéreur. Lorsque vous recevez un tel document de destination de votre fournisseur, celui-ci demande donc de confirmer que les marchandises que vous lui avez achetées sont arrivées en Belgique. Selon les règles européennes en matière de preuve, le document de destination est essentiel pour fournir une preuve suffisante du transport si l'acquéreur est chargé du transport des marchandises. D'un point de vue européen, ces déclarations écrites doivent être établies une fois par mois. En fait, les règles européennes restent assez strictes. La déclaration doit encore être complétée par au moins 2 autres documents (CMR signée, facture du transport, document d'assurance pour le transport, etc.), ces documents devant en outre provenir de différentes parties afin de constituer une preuve suffisante qui crée une présomption réfragable que les marchandises ont quitté le pays de départ. Ceci fait que la déclaration écrite européenne n'est pas tellement appliquée dans la pratique.

Toutefois, si un fournisseur vous demande de signer une telle déclaration, il nous semble indiqué de le faire. Tâchez cependant de limiter au maximum le travail administratif supplémentaire en demandant à votre fournisseur de déjà mentionner lui-même toutes les informations nécessaires (les plus délicates étant la date et le lieu d'arrivée et l'identification du moyen de transport) sur le document.

Le document de destination belge

Les règles belges en matière de TVA vont plus loin que les règles européennes et donnent une plus grande force probante au document de destination en cas d’expédition EXW/départ usine. Ce document peut ainsi servir de preuve autonome et ne doit pas nécessairement être complété par d'autres documents.

En outre, les règles belges autorisent également l'utilisation du document de destination si le transport est effectué par ou pour le compte du vendeur. Avec une copie de la facture du transport, le document de destination constitue alors une preuve suffisante, qui constitue une présomption réfragable.

Les fournisseurs belges qui vendent EXW ont, à notre avis, tout intérêt à demander à leurs clients de signer des documents de destination.

En cas de vente en chaîne (plusieurs ventes successives où il n'y a qu'un seul transport), le document de destination peut être établi par le cocontractant du fournisseur ou par l'acquéreur final des marchandises (dernier acquéreur dans la chaîne).

Le document de destination belge peut être établi globalement par acquéreur pour une période maximale de 3 mois. Il doit être daté, signé et renvoyé au fournisseur dans les trois mois suivant la période à laquelle le document se rapporte. La signature peut se faire par l'acquéreur lui-même mais aussi par une personne autorisée par lui, comme un comptable, un entrepositaire tiers, un employé de l'entrepôt, etc. Dans ce cas, la signature doit être précédée de la mention « au nom de l’acquéreur ».

À quoi peut vous servir un document de destination ?

Si, dans un contexte intracommunautaire, vous fournissez des biens à un client identifié dans un autre État membre, vous devez toujours apporter la preuve, au moyen d'un ensemble de documents, que les biens ont effectivement été transportés vers un autre État membre. En principe, vous devez toujours être en possession de tous les documents attestant le transport en dehors de la Belgique. En cas de contrôle, le fisc pourra examiner si le fournisseur a fourni des preuves suffisantes.

Le document de destination peut être utilisé par vous pour fournir cette preuve du transport, sans qu'aucun autre document supplémentaire ne doive être présenté. Ceci, bien sûr, pour autant que le document de destination ne soit pas en contradiction avec les autres pièces sous-jacentes à la vente (les contrats, les bons de commande, les factures et les pièces de paiement).

Que doit mentionner le document de destination ?

Le document de destination doit mentionner les informations suivantes :

  • le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de TVA belge du vendeur ;
  • le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de TVA de l’acquéreur dans l'État membre (autre que la Belgique) où il recevra les marchandises ;
  • la confirmation que le document de destination concerne l'arrivée des biens dans le cadre d'une livraison intracommunautaire exonérée de TVA ;
  • le lieu d'arrivée des biens (adresse en dehors de la Belgique) ;
  • la dénomination usuelle et la quantité des biens et, s’il s’agit des moyens de transport, le numéro d'identification du moyen de transport ;
  • la date et le numéro de la facture ou, si la facture n'a pas encore été émise, une autre référence explicitement liée à la facture ;
  • la date de la réception des biens livrés.

Quand est-il intéressant d'utiliser un document de destination ?

Il est particulièrement intéressant d'utiliser un document de destination lorsque peu d'autres documents relatifs au transport intracommunautaire sont à votre disposition. Nous pensons en premier lieu à la situation dans laquelle votre client vient lui-même chercher les marchandises achetées en Belgique pour les ramener dans son propre État membre (livraison ‘départ usine’). Comme, dans ce cas, le transport est organisé totalement indépendamment de vous, il est souvent difficile d'avoir suffisamment de pièces justificatives concernant le transport. Toutefois, par le biais du document de destination, votre client peut vous confirmer que les marchandises sont bel et bien arrivées dans un autre État membre, ce qui constitue une présomption réfragable du transport en cas de contrôle.

Lorsque vous allez livrer les marchandises dans un autre État membre avec vos propres moyens de transport, le document de destination peut aussi avoir son utilité, car dans ce cas, par exemple, aucune facture d'une société de transport ne sera disponible. Vous pouvez alors présenter le document de destination à votre client dès l’arrivée. De cette façon, vous avez un certain degré de contrôle sur la signature de ce document. Une alternative est, ici aussi, un document de destination périodique.

… Et quand n'est-ce pas le cas ?

Si vous faites livrer des marchandises au destinataire dans un autre État membre par une société de transport, qui vous remet en outre toujours un document CMR signé pour réception des marchandises livrées, un document de destination n'apportera que peu de valeur ajoutée. La facture de la société de transport et le document CMR signé ainsi que le paiement du transport constituent en effet des preuves suffisantes que le transport a eu lieu.

Dans ce cas, il ne semble pas nécessaire (ni même utile) de demander un document de destination signé au destinataire des marchandises.

Dans de telles situations, un document de destination ne constituera qu'une charge administrative supplémentaire, tant pour vous comme vendeur que pour l’acheteur.

L’exemption de TVA s’applique-t-elle sans plus lorsqu'un document de destination est disponible ?

Dans la mesure où vous saviez ou auriez dû savoir que les biens vendus par vous resteraient en Belgique après la vente, même un document de destination signé ne peut servir de pièce justificative pour l’exemption de la TVA. Pensez à la situation où vous vendez à un entrepreneur polonais des matériaux de construction dont vous savez qu'ils seront utilisés sur un chantier en Belgique. Dans de tels cas, vous devrez toujours facturer la TVA belge (sauf dans les cas où une autre exemption de TVA s'applique).

Par ailleurs, en cas de contrôle, le fisc peut toujours apporter la preuve contraire que le document de destination est incorrect et que les marchandises ne sont pas arrivées comme il a été déclaré.

Conclusion

Dans certains cas, un document de destination peut certainement être un outil utile pour prouver facilement le transport intracommunautaire de biens. Il ne semble cependant pas nécessaire de faire signer le document de destination par l'acquéreur à chaque livraison intracommunautaire.

Contactez l'un de nos experts
Bert Derez
Bert Derez
Partner Tax & Legal Services
Aurelie Van Oosterwyck
Aurelie Van Oosterwyck
Manager Tax & Legal Services